Synchronization

If you have Google Chrome installed on multiple devices you can synchronize your templates between machines. Here’s how you do it:

Please make sure that you have the Gorgias extension installed on you Google Chrome.

Now log in and all your templates will be synchronized.

In order to get your templates synchronized with other computers, make sure you are logged in on the other computers too.

How does synchronization work?

Every time the synchronization process starts all your templates are uploaded and stored to the https://gorgias.io/ via a secure HTTPS connection.

The uploaded templates can now be shared between computers or with other members of your team using the https://gorgias.io interface.

Syncing not only uploads all your templates it also updates the templates that have been modified on other computers or downloads the new templates shared by your team.

Note

No templates are ever deleted! Unless you specifically demand it. In order to completely delete your data please send an e-mail to support@gorgias.io

Why not use Google Sync instead?

While Google Sync is very convenient and works well for most Chrome extensions, it’s a bit more complicated for Gorgias.

Here are the reasons why Chrome Sync is not the best fit for Gorgias:

First, chrome.storage.sync is limited to 100KB or 512 items (whichever is first). While this is more than enough for most Gorgias users, some of our users have big HTML templates and more than 512 templates. Hard to believe, but true.

Secondly (and probably most importantly for our customers) the chrome.storage.sync is attached only to one account, you can’t share your templates with other team members.

Other practical reasons include the fact that it’s difficult to debug a Sync problem when it’s completely outside your control (Google Servers) and it’s especially difficult to maintain 2 different implementations of a syncing methods.